Celebrating Science - A Family Science Project

  FERA Learning Cycle

The model shown here was developed by the National Science Resources Center (NSRC) and used in their Science and Technology for Children (STC) instructional materials.
It is known as the FERA Learning Cycle and consists of four phases:
  1. Focus
  2. Explore
  3. Reflect
  4. Apply
This instructional approach is not a locked-step method but rather a cyclical process. It is a teaching strategy used to facilitate student-centered learning. Teaching methods and curriculum using a learning cycle approach have been shown to be effective in increasing scientific understanding.

The acts of questioning and the process of discovery are highlighted within each step of the FERA learning cycle. By following this approach, community-based science events can lead participants from confirming "what they know" to understanding "how they come to know" science concepts.

FERA Learning Cycle Model